Brief portrait of the StGB NRW

The North Rhine-Westphalia Local Authorities Confederation (StGB NRW) is an organisation representing 360 out of the 396 municipal entities in the German state of North Rhine-Westphalia. Members in the Local Authorities Confederation are without exception county-affiliated towns and municipalities. There are a good 9 million people living in the county-affiliated towns or municipalities of NRW - more than half of the state's total population. Membership in the StGB NRW is voluntary.

The North Rhine-Westphalia Local Authorities Confederation, together with 16 equivalent organisations in the other German states, forms the foundation of the German Local Authorities Confederation. The StGB NRW operates independently of government subsidies, obtaining its revenues solely from the contributions paid by the member councils.

The confederation is headed by its President. Since November 23th 2017 this has been Roland Schäfer, Mayor of Bergkamen. The First Deputy President is Dr. Eckhard Ruthemeyer, Mayor of Soest. The office of the StGB NRW in Düsseldorf is headed by the General Manager Dr. Bernd Jürgen Schneider. He is supported by Manager Horst-Heinrich Gerbrand.

Roland Schäfer

Bürgermeister a.D.
Stadt Bergkamen
Ehrenpräsident des DStGB

Dr. Eckhard Ruthemeyer

Stadt Soest

Horst-Heinrich Gerbrand

ICON/icon_verband ICON/icon_staedtebau ICON/icon_recht ICON/icon_finanzen ICON/icon_kultur ICON/icon_datenverarbeitung ICON/icon_gesundheit ICON/icon_verkehr ICON/icon_bau ICON/icon_umwelt icon-gemeindeverzeichnis icon-languarge icon-link-arrow icon-login icon-mail icon-plus icon-search